Andi Seger Member May 2017

  1. Briefly, what have you done personally or professionally since high school?
  2. I graduated from college in 1972 and began a teaching career in Connecticut. After three years I moved to the college level to work in higher education athletic administration. In 1995 I became one of four women to lead a major college football athletics program. You can imagine the reaction of the “football guys” when I was appointed. Fortunately, I had the support of our President and our football staff. Unfortunately, almost 25 years later there are still less than 10 women in this position. After my retirement in 2002, I began a 12 year career in non-profit higher education executive search and consulting; with special emphasis in collegiate athletics.

  3. How long have you lived in Raleigh/Cary/Durham?
  4. Immediately after my retirement in 2002 from Ball State I moved to the Raleigh area. My family had spent many years on driving vacations from Connecticut to Cape Hatteras for fishing and swimming and I had developed an affinity for the area. Much like Connecticut, North Carolina is the perfect spot (only warmer) to access both the mountains and the coast for the type of activities I enjoy; golf, hiking and boating.

  5. What was your motivation for joining ALTA?
  6. Following my retirement from consulting two years ago I began to seek out additional volunteer activities. Having worked in education throughout my career the Assistance League seemed like a good fit, especially for my interests in low income school children and women in difficult situations such as homelessness. My involvement is really out of selfishness as it provides me great joy.

  7. Please, tell us something about you we may not know or something about you that is unique or unexpected.
  8. There are probably two things in particular; 1) Having spent my career in college sports you would think I would spend a lot of time either attending sports events or watching them on television. I actually spend little time on either and prefer to be participating in my own physical activities. 2) Many of the members may see me moving furniture in and out of the truck and into the store would not know that I spent most of 2012-2016 in a wheelchair unable to walk more than 15 minutes at a time.